North American Championship Regatta Winners

1953Jack MoranMichigan, USACass Lake, Michigan
1954Jack Moran (second)Michigan, USACass Lake, Michigan
1955Bill SporerMichigan, USACass Lake, Michigan
1956Ed GrantMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1957Skip BostonMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1958Remi DeBlaereMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1959Skip BostonMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1960Jane PegelIllinois, USADevil’s Lake, Michigan
1961Jack YoungNew York, USALake Geneva, Wisconsin
1962Reuben SnodgrassNew York, USALake Honeoye, New York
1963Jane Pegel (second)Illinois, USAMansfield, Ohio
1964Skip Boston (third)Michigan, USAToledo, Ohio
1965Ed Grant (second)Michigan, USACass Lake, Michigan
1966Ro RednerMichigan, USAGull Lake, Michigan
1967Ro Redner (second)Michigan, USALake Lamoka, New York
1968Gene TreuterMichigan, USACass Lake, Michigan
1969Jack WesenbergMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1970Tim WoodhouseMichigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1971Jan GougeonMichigan, USAGeist Reservoir, Indiana
1972Jan GougeonMichigan, USABantam Lake, Connecticut
1973Tim WoodhouseMichigan, USASodus Bay, New York
1974Tim Woodhouse (third)Michigan, USAHamilton Harbor, Canada
1975Vello KuuskEstonia, USSRLake Geneva, Wisconsin
1976Jan GougeonMichigan, USAHamilton Harbor, Canada
1977John SchuckMichigan, USASt. Michaels, Maryland
1978Ed KraftMichigan, USACanandaigua, New York
1979P. BurczynskiPolandLake Champlain, Vermont
1980Meade GougeonMichigan, USAAlpena, Michigan
1981Jan GougeonMichigan, USAHamilton Bay, Canada
1982Henry BossettNew Jersey, USACanandaigua, New York
1983Henry BossettNew Jersey, USATrenton, Ontario
1984J. KoeckNew Jersey, USASandusky, Ohio
1985No Regatta
1986Jan GougeonMichigan, USAMuskegon, Michigan
1987Mike O’BrianNew Jersey, USALake St Clair, Michigan
1988Jan GougeonMichigan, USATrenton, Ontario
1989Ron SherryMichigan, USALake Champlain, Vermont
1990Henry BossettNew Jersey,USAElk Lake, Michigan
1991Ron SherryMichigan, USALake Leelanau, Michigan
1992Ron SherryMichigan, USAMadison, Wisconsin
1993Henry Bossett (fourth)New Jersey,USALake Geneva, Wisconsin
1994Jan GougeonMichigan, USAElk Lake, Michigan
1995Karol JablonskiPolandMontreal, Quebec
1996Ken VanWagnenOhio, USALake Champlain, Vermont
1997Meade Gougeon (second)Michigan, USALake St. Clair, Michigan
1998Greg SmithMichigan, USALake Champlain, Vermont
1999Ron SherryMichigan, USALac St. Louis, Canada
2000Jan Gougeon (eighth)Michigan, USALake Miltona, Minnesota
2001Karol Jablonski (second)PolandSaginaw Bay, Michigan
2002Ron SherryMichigan, USAGarrison, Minnesota
2003Ron SherryMichigan, USALake Champlain, New York
2004John DennisMinnesota, USASandusky, Ohio
2005Matt StrubleMichigan, USAElk Lake, Michigan
2006Ron SherryMichigan, USAPepin, Wisconsin
2007Matt StrubleMichigan, USAMenominee, Michigan
2008Matt StrubleMichigan, USALake City, Minnesota
2009Ron SherryMichigan, USAMenominee, Wisconsin
2010Ron SherryMichigan, USAThunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
2011No Regatta
2012Ron SherryMichigan, USAGreen Bay, Green Bay, Wisconsin
2013John Dennis (second)Minnesota, USALake Pepin, Lake City, Minnesota
2014Ron SherryMichigan, USALake Champlain, Plattsburgh, New York
2015No Regatta
2016Matt Struble California,USALake Monona, Madison, Wisconsin
2017Ron SherryMichigan, USAGreen Bay, Peshtigo, Wisconsin
2018Ron Sherry Michigan, USALake Charlevoix, Boyne City, Michigan
2019Ron Sherry
Michigan USALake Wawasee, Syracuse, Indiana
2020James "T" ThielerRhode Island, USAFort Peck, Montana
2021No Regatta
2022No Regatta
2023Matt Struble California, USALake Kegonsa, Madison, WI
2024Matt Struble (6th)California, USALake Waconia, Waconia, MN


The DN is most popular iceboat in the world. Whether you are a racer or cruiser, your $25 membership in the IDNIYRA helps to promote the art and skill of DN ice yacht construction and the sport of ice yachting on all the hard waters of the world.



View Yearbook

Click here to order a yearbook.

Tech Committee Discussion Board

Current Newsletter


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 391 other subscribers